Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: DLNA Protocol error 2006 on PS3

  1. #1
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie

    DLNA Protocol error 2006 on PS3

    Hey guys...for those who own a PS3, I need your help. When I originally set up my PS3, I could stream videos, music, photos, etc from my PC to my PS3. For some reason, I am now getting the "DLNA Protocol error 2006" when I try to connect to my media server. It doesn't even detect the media server right now. I do have internet access though...that's not an issue.

    I am running Windows XP and using Windows Media Player 11. I have googled this topic several times, but I'm finding that I'm led all over the place...some of the info is a couple years old...It's just not working out.

    I can't pinpoint the exact time that this started, but the only two major things that have happened to my pc around that time are I installed Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 and I had a prolonged power outage where my internet required being set up again by the provider.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

  2. #2
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie
    Another thing...for some reason, even though it's enabled on my ps3, it shows that Universal Plug n Play (UPnP) is "not available".
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

  3. #3
    First suggestion is to completely disable Kaspersky and see if that resolves the issue. If it does you will need to find a way allow access to your WM11 server. The other possibility is if your PS3 is set to a dynamic IP address it could have changed during your power outage and you may need to reconfigure WM11. If this is the case I would set a static IP for your PS3 before you reconfigure.

    Otherwise, I strongly suggest you try PS3 Media Server instead. I know McFeely suggested it before but I figured it wouldn't hurt to mention it again. It's very straight forward to setup and it will be up before you know it.

    http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/

    http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/view...php?f=2&t=3217 - If you want to download the latest beta build.

  4. #4
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie
    Thanks for that info! I just installed the ps3 media server and it's so much easier to use...and faster.
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

  5. #5
    Bucko
    Guest
    I'd be interested to hear what you guys do with your media server setups, how you have everything set up, where you get your content, etc. Maybe its a good topic for a new thread. As I mentioned in another thread, the old CRT TV went tits up last month so I just recently joined the HD craze, and I'm looking for ideas. I was talking to a former coworker and he had an interesting setup, and was downloading his movies from newsgroups or something long before they were released.. lol... He invited me to come see his setup to get some ideas, which I plan to do but in the mean time maybe I can pick you guys brains. Ok for example, with the PS3 media server .. where do you get most of your content? Does the PS3 have WiFi (or, if I get one do I also need to buy something so it can talk to my router)? Like I said I don't mean to threadjack (still seems kind of topic to me) but it looks like Sasks' issue is resolved, so if someone wants a new thread to enlighten me that works too or just continue here..

  6. #6
    McFeely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bikini Bottom, Florida
    Posts
    2,049
    I can only add to Parasite's comments on PS3 Media Server. That it is an excellent way to stream media files to the PS3. When I posted the program several months ago I didn't get many comments. If you have any questions or need help let me know. The help file is not very helpful but the forum search is a good way to solve most problems. You may to have to tweak or use the decoder to synch the audio for some ripped DVDs. Bucko the content is out there and there are many ways to get it legally. Any other method would be against the law.




    I agree with Pulver 1.0% of the time. The other 99.0% is thinking that a watermelon and fried chicken shack in the DC area might be a nice business for Pulver.

  7. #7
    Bucko
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by McFeely View Post
    Bucko the content is out there and there are many ways to get it legally. Any other method would be against the law.
    Legal suggestions are welcome -- I don't necessarily need to the latest and greatest so that part isn't as important. My main question is, once you have the PS3 media server set up, what do you watch on it? Like Youtube? I think of Youtube as a way to watch crappy quality little 10 min clips in the browser. The bluray player I have now supports Youtube although I don't know what I would do with it. Are there other websites/sources that you use to stream video? That's the sort of thing I'm looking for, just getting people talking about how they use it. My use of PC and TV are quite separated at the moment -- just want to be sure I'm not missing anything.

  8. #8
    Ninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    1,817
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: OSGNinja Steam ID: OSG_Ninja
    I just skimmed over, will give a more appropriate response if need be but definitely disable UPnP. There are known remote code exploits for that protocol. Take the time to forward the proper ports.

  9. #9
    I was abducted by aliens.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sniper Doug's basement..
    Posts
    473
    Gamer IDs

    XFIRE ID: chiselwac Steam ID: chiselboat
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucko View Post
    I'd be interested to hear what you guys do with your media server setups, how you have everything set up, where you get your content, etc. Maybe its a good topic for a new thread. As I mentioned in another thread, the old CRT TV went tits up last month so I just recently joined the HD craze, and I'm looking for ideas. I was talking to a former coworker and he had an interesting setup, and was downloading his movies from newsgroups or something long before they were released.. lol... He invited me to come see his setup to get some ideas, which I plan to do but in the mean time maybe I can pick you guys brains. Ok for example, with the PS3 media server .. where do you get most of your content? Does the PS3 have WiFi (or, if I get one do I also need to buy something so it can talk to my router)? Like I said I don't mean to threadjack (still seems kind of topic to me) but it looks like Sasks' issue is resolved, so if someone wants a new thread to enlighten me that works too or just continue here..

    Bucko I have a Asus Oplay hooked up to my 65" HD .. I also download movies from various "newsgroups" and the Oplay can play a variety of media formats

    http://gizmodo.com/5415699/asus-opla...-the-new-champ

    Just network it with your PC, connect to your TV..
    [IMG]http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a286/chiselwac/chisel.jpg[/IMG]
    [url=http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/stats/pc/chiselwac74][img]http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/detail3/pc/chiselwac74.png[/img][/url]

    [url=http://profile.xfire.com/chiselwac][img]http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/2/chiselwac.png[/img][/url]

  10. #10
    Bucko
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by chiselwac View Post
    Bucko I have a Asus Oplay hooked up to my 65" HD .. I also download movies from various "newsgroups" and the Oplay can play a variety of media formats

    http://gizmodo.com/5415699/asus-opla...-the-new-champ

    Just network it with your PC, connect to your TV..
    Looks interesting, I think that's something like like my former coworker was using. So what do you do for your content like fully legal trailers and free downloads (that's my legal disclaimer for Mac). Torrent?
    Last edited by Bucko; 02-04-2010 at 09:12 PM.

  11. #11
    I was abducted by aliens.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sniper Doug's basement..
    Posts
    473
    Gamer IDs

    XFIRE ID: chiselwac Steam ID: chiselboat
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucko View Post
    Looks interesting, I think that's something like like my former coworker was using. So what do you do for your content like fully legal trailers and free downloads (that's my legal disclaimer for Mac). Torrent?
    uTorrent and my fav site is http://extratorrent.com/
    [IMG]http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a286/chiselwac/chisel.jpg[/IMG]
    [url=http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/stats/pc/chiselwac74][img]http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/detail3/pc/chiselwac74.png[/img][/url]

    [url=http://profile.xfire.com/chiselwac][img]http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/2/chiselwac.png[/img][/url]

  12. #12
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie
    I use btjunkie.org to "backup" my movies/music...
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

  13. #13
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie
    Oh, and BTW, that stupid dnla error came back even while using ps3 media server. Around the same time, my connection had slowed down quite a bit.
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

  14. #14
    I'm going to have to say it may be related to your files or your connection.

    Here's something I found real quick on google. http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/view...php?f=6&t=3089

    The only suggestion I have at the moment is to try serving just a few files and gradually add more over time. It appears your server is getting overloaded trying to cache all that content and probably can't handle the load.

  15. #15
    McFeely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bikini Bottom, Florida
    Posts
    2,049
    One word "Demonoid"




    I agree with Pulver 1.0% of the time. The other 99.0% is thinking that a watermelon and fried chicken shack in the DC area might be a nice business for Pulver.

  16. #16
    Stunned as me arse! SaskNewfie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In the middle of the Atlantic on the island of Newfoundland!
    Posts
    2,459
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: SaskNewfie
    Quote Originally Posted by Parasitic View Post
    The only suggestion I have at the moment is to try serving just a few files and gradually add more over time. It appears your server is getting overloaded trying to cache all that content and probably can't handle the load.
    I think you may be correct here. I was streaming my 1 TB harddrive with about 700 movies on it...lol. Could be an overload...i toned it down to a folder with about a 15 movies and it's working right now.
    Long may your big jib draw, me ol' cocky!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •